MARYLAND MVALearner's permit
Minimum age for applicants is 15 years and 9 months. If under 16, you must provide a completed Learner's Permit School Attendance Certification form (DL-300) to an MVA official during the learner's permit application process. You must pass a vision test and knowledge test. If under 18, a parent or guardian must sign the application or, if the applicant has no parent or guardian or is married, an adult employer of the applicant or any other responsible adult may cosign the application. You must be 18 to obtain a Learner's Permit for a CDL Intrastate, 21 years of age for Interstate. In addition, you must also have a full driver's license (does not include a motorcycle license). You will be required to disclose your social security number. Applicants not eligible for a social security number will be required to provide a self-certification. A valid U.S. Department of Transportation physical card (if applying for a Learner's Permit to drive a commercial motor vehicle). Out-of-State learner's permits cannot be exchanged for a Maryland Learner's Permit. You must also complete the Maryland Graduated Licensing System requirements.Driver's License
You must pass a vision test or submit a Vision Screening form. You will be required to disclose your social security number. Applicants not eligible for a social security number will be required to provide a self-certification. License may be renewed without additional tests up to one year after expiration.
Driving with an expired license is against the law. Maryland residents renew their driver's licenses every five years and you must have a valid Maryland driver's license at all times if you are a resident of Maryland and are driving a vehicle. A renewal notice will be mailed to your address of record with the MVA 60 days prior to the expiration of your driver's license. Remember, address changes need to be reported within 30 days to the MVA. You can renew by mail (if eligible) or in person at a MVA location.To Renew Your Maryland License, Please Bring:
1) Your expiring Driver's License
To exchange an Out-of-State License for a Maryland License, please bring proof of age, identity, Maryland residence, Out-of-State license(s), and the appropriate fee for each license class for which you apply. New Maryland residents must obtain a Maryland Driver's License within 60 days. You must pass a vision test. An Out-of-State license may be valid or expired. If expired for one year or more, you are required to pass a knowledge and driver's skills test. If you do not have your out-of-state license in your possession you will need a letter of clearance from the licensing state. The license cannot be suspended. If licensed for less than 18 months, you will be issued a Maryland Provisional License. A valid U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) physical card or Federal/MVA waiver (if applying for a Commercial Driver's License). A hazardous material (HAZMAT) test is required to keep your HAZMAT endorsement (if applying for a Commercial Driver's License). You will be required to disclose your social security number. Applicants not eligible for a social security number will be required to provide a self-certification. Out-of-State learner's permits cannot be exchanged for a Maryland Learner's Permit or license.
Note: If you are presenting an Out-of-State license with foreign issued documents, you will be required to schedule an appointment.