You may get your learner's permit when you turn 15 and a half years of age. You may operate a motor vehicle when a licensed driver at least 21 yrs of age is seated beside you. The licensed driver sitting beside you maybe 18 yrs of age if h/she is your legal guardian, brother/sister, half brother/half sister, step-brother/step-sister. When applying for a learner's permit, you will also complete the application process for your driver's license and pay the fees for both permit and license. You will need to pass both the vision screening and the two-part knowledge exam. If you are under 19 yrs of age, you must provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver education course and you must hold the learner's permit for at least 9 months before you can receive a driver's license. You will receive a certificate after successful completion of the driver education course which allows you to drive without a licensed driver beside you- provided you have held your permit for at least 9 months and the certificate is signed by a parent/legal guardian. (16 yrs, 3 months - 18 yrs of age) After you have held your permit for 9 months, turned 16 yrs and 3 months of age, and successfully complete a driver education course, you will be notified to come to the court for a licensing ceremony. You will receive your permanent driver's license.
Prohibits drivers under the age of 18 from driving in between the hours of 12 a.m. midnight to 4 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Exceptions to the law include emergencies and traveling for work or school sponsored events. Violations to the law can result in the suspension of your driver's license.
First Time Drivers
You must be a resident of Virginia and be at least 16 yrs and 3 months of age to obtain a Virginia driver's license. If you are under 18 yrs of age, you must provide written consent from your parents/legal guardian unless you are married or emancipated. If you are under 19 yrs of age, you must successfully complete a state-approved driver education program. If you are 19 yrs or older, and you have never held a driver's license issued by Virginia, another state, a U.S. territory, or foreign country, or cannot show proof that you previously held such a license, you must show proof that you passed an approved driver education course, or, you held a Virginia learner's permit at least 30 days before taking the DMV road skills test. At any age, as a first time driver, you will be required to provide documents to prove identity, legal presence, Virginia residency, and, if you have one, Social Security number.
Within 60 days of moving to Virginia, you must obtain a Virginia driver's license.
Driver's License Renewal. Your Virginia driver's license normally expires on your birthday. When you renew your license, it will be valid for another 8 yrs. You can renew your license as early as 6 months prior to the expiration date. If you are 20 yrs and younger at the time of renewal and have received one or more traffic convictions, you must retake the 2-part knowledge exam. If your license has expired for more than 1 yr, you must retake all tests (vision screening, 2-part knowledge exam, and road skills test). DMV will mail you a renewal application prior to the expiration date of your driver's license. Be sure to keep the DMV updated with your current address of residence. The renewal fee for an 8-year driver's license is $32. You may pay with cash, money order, check, debit card or major credit card. You may renew your driver's license online ( [ Link ]), by telephone (1-888-337-4782), or by mail. Instructions for mail renewal can be found at [ Link ]
DMV: 1-866-DMV-LINE (1-866-368-5463) [ Link ]